zucchini bars

Baby, please don’t go

Baby, please don’t go

Baby, please don’t go, down to New Orleans

You know I love you so

“Baby Please Don’t Go” by Muddy Waters

zuchinibars

I have a big secret… I can easily eat half a dish of zucchini bars in one sitting, there I said it.

These bars were introduced to me by my wife via my mother-in-law.  Because I have had so much experience over the years eating these little chunks of heaven, I have a few pointers for you. The first, stop wasting my time and yours and buy a stand mixer, this batter is extremely thick and difficult to mix with a hand or mixer or by hand. Second, put the finished bars  in the refrigerator before serving.  There is something magical that happens when you let these babies set up in the ice box (I think it’s mostly the chocolate chips getting nice and firm again).  Try making these and be sure to save the other half of the dish that you didn’t eat for friends and family.

Ingredients:

2 cups zucchini, grated
¾ cup butter
½ cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 ¾ cups flour
½ teaspoon salt
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 ½ cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1.    Preheat oven to 350° F
2.    Cream butter and sugar together with a mixer
3.    Add eggs, and vanilla
4.    Add dry ingredients
5.    Add zucchini and chocolate chips
6.    Grease a 9×13 inch pan, add mix
7.    Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until light brown

15 Comments

Filed under American, Dessert, Easy, Farmers Market, Snack, Sweets, Uncategorized, Vegetable

15 responses to “zucchini bars

  1. I happen to have some squashes to use up…never thought of combining them with chocolate chips in a sweet dish. Thanks for the idea.

  2. I’m going to make some of these this weekend!

  3. Kevin

    yum…these bars are no joke. mark, i think i’ve eaten the other half a dish with you before back in the day, amazing! i think we’re also going to making these treat soon, thanks for the recipe.

  4. Pingback: momspark.net » No-brainer Recipe: Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bars

  5. Pingback: zucchini bread «

  6. These look great, and I have a stand mixer!

  7. Pingback: happy new year!!! «

  8. Joey

    These bars are amazing! I just made them and they taste so good. They were really good out of the oven but I also like them cold.

  9. Pingback: ‘Tis the season of plenty | Belle and her Boys

  10. Thanks for the great recipe. Will add it to my “zucchini” collection.

  11. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bars « buttcheeksandtoiletbowls

Leave a Reply

