coca-cola pork chops

I want you, I want you so bad

I want you, I want you so bad

It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad

“(I Want You) She’s So Heavy” by The Beatles

My first recipe of the New Year! Nothing special, but it is quick and pretty good over a heaping mound of white rice. I’m thinking this might also be good with Dr. Pepper.

Ingredients:

½ inch thick pork chops
1 cup flour, placed in a shallow dish or bowl (for dredging)
Salt
Pepper
Olive Oil
½ teaspoon hot sauce
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
3 cloves of garlic minced
1 cup Barbecue Sauce
1 cup Coca-Cola
½ medium onion, sliced thin

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F
  2. Salt and pepper and flour pork chop
  3. Heat olive oil in a large skillet, brown pork chops  on both sides
  4. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine hot sauce, mustard, garlic, barbecue sauce and Coca-Cola
  5. Place pork chops in an oven-proof  dish
  6. Place onions on top of pork chops and cover with Coca-Cola mixture
  7. Cook, uncovered for 1 hour
  8. Remove pork from dish, place on a separate plate and cover with aluminum foil
  9. Place  remaining sauce in a sauce pan and reduce until it has thickened slightly
  10. Smother pork chops with sauce and serve over rice
2 Comments

Filed under American, Easy, Fast, Meat, Pork, Sauce

2 responses to “coca-cola pork chops

  1. Hm, I just happen to have two little pork chops at home and all the other ingredients except for the Coke. Don’t really drink much soda in our house. Does the sauce turn out pretty sweet?

Leave a Reply

