cheddar, bacon, pepper, and fresh chive biscuits

Pull up at the function and you know I Kojak

To all the party people that are on my bozak

I’ve got more action than my man John Woo

And I’ve got mad hits like I was Rod Carew

“Sure Shot” by The Beastie Boys

It’s Superbowl Sunday morning and I need some breakfast…

I ran across this recipe in this month’s Bon Appetit Magazine. Bacon? cheddar? biscuits? Hell yeah! My last post gave me the opportunity to showcase some of my thick cut bacon, which the recipe called for.  The plan is to bring these to the Superbowl party at Kevin and Dena’s in Emeryville, good thing I made a dozen because I don’t think all these little guys are going to make it to their final destination. I changed the recipe slightly, I added some cracked pepper because I just thought it would be a good addition, I was right. While these were supposed to be a snack, I could see them more appropriately served as a standalone breakfast. Also, while the recipe said this makes a dozen large biscuits, I would say it is more like 14-16, mine turned out bigger than Peyton Manning’s head.

Adapted from Bon Appetit

Makes about 14 biscuits

Ingredients:

6 thick cut bacon slices (hopefully the stuff I inspired you to make)
3 ¾ cups bread flour
1 ½ tablespoons baking powder
1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
1 ½ teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon black pepper, cracked but not ground (optional)
1 stick chilled butter (cut into ½ inch cubes) plus ½ stick of butter (melted)
2 ½ cups shredded sharp cheddar
1/3 cup fresh chives, chopped
2 cups buttermilk (or more if the final mixture seems too dry)

Directions:

  1. Cook bacon until brown and crispy, cut into ¼ inch chunks
  2. Place rack in middle of the oven and preheat to 425° F
  3. Line baking sheet with parchment paper
  4. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pepper, mix ingredients thoroughly with a fork
  5. Cut in chilled butter with a pastry cutter
  6. Stir in bacon, chives, and cheddar, mix until well incorporated
  7. Slowly mix in buttermilk, dough should be sticky
  8. Drop a half inch mound of dough onto the baking sheet keeping about 2 inch space in between mounds
  9. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until brown and a toothpick comes out clean
  10. Brush will melted butter
12 Comments

Filed under American, Bacon, Breakfast, Cheese, Snack, Southern, Uncategorized

12 responses to “cheddar, bacon, pepper, and fresh chive biscuits

  1. Is it wrong to skip work today so I can stay home and make these? They look awesome.

  2. These remind me of Red Lobster Biscuits (the best part of eating there!) except better cuz it’s got BACON in it! YUM!

  3. chives, bacon, cheddar and black pepper…..combination of all these ingredients sounds really yummy, but I’m curious if these biscuits were heavy at all???

  4. Hi-

    I’m writing to you from Bon Appétit magazine and would love to use your photo for a blog post round up of what people are cooking at home (from the magazine). If you can send me an email letting me know that I have the permission to use your photo and link your blog to our site as soon as possible, that would be awesome-

    Thanks,
    Diane Chang
    Diane_Chang@bonappetit.com

  5. Awesome..bacon, cheese, fluffy biscuits..what more could anyone need? Gorgeous shot too!

  6. Pingback: happy new year: 2011!!! |

  7. Angie

    I made a similar recipe previously with Corn, Bacon, Cheddar and Scallions. Also, kinda dense but so tasty! :)

Leave a Reply

