i’m back

On the seventh hours

On the seventh day

On the seventh month

The seven doctors say

He was born for good luck

‘Hoochie Coochie Man” by Muddy Waters

I ate my tacos too fast but here is my Salvadorian speciality, pupusa, from Tita’s

Hello from northern California. The trip to Arizona was great, we caught some baseball and had some awesome meals. Specifically, the sous vide pork chop with roasted apples at Petite Maison in Scottsdale. While this was one of the better meals I have had in months, the best meal I had was from a taco truck. We were driving home on the mind numbing thoroughfare that is known as I-5.  This god-awful stretch of road makes Southern Illinois look like the French Riviera (end obscure geographic references here). I have made this trip many times, forced to eat at Subway or some other crap hole like that because of lack of food options. No longer! A few days ago I hit the culinary jackpot at Tita’s Pupuseria at I-5 and Highway 58, just northwest of Bakersfield.

Here’s what I ate:

1 carnitas taco

1 lengua taco

1 bean and cheese pupusa

The carnitas were full of pork flavor with wonderful crispy edges. The lengua (beef tongue) was moist and tasted almost like prime rib.  Finally the pupusa…oh, the pupusa! The masa shell was tender, the interior was full of molten bean and cheese, and the spicy slaw on top had a wonderful acidity that balanced out the beans and cheese.

No more Subway for me! I have Tita’s.

4 Comments

Filed under American, French, Mexican, Uncategorized

4 responses to “i’m back

  1. wow, did you know about titas or did you just see it from the highway? I love taco trucks and how cool to find one that sells pupusas!

  2. Wow, I didn’t think anything would make the drive from I-5 that interesting, but this definitely is an oasis in the highway wasteland.

Leave a Reply

