bacon, mushroom, and swiss quiche

Yeah, that’s right, I’m the egg man

Driving around, king of the town

Always got my windows rolled down

You know, I’m the egg man

“Egg Man” by the Beastie Boys

quche

Breakfast + dinner = brinner, who says you can’t enjoy breakfast when the sun goes down? I LOVE brinner, whether it’s pancakes, scrambled eggs, or French toast, I don’t care.  This is a quiche recipe that I have created using some of my favorite elements of many different recipes.  You could make the classic pâte brisée for the crust, I used a Pillsbury pre-made pie crust and it was definitely good.  I had some leftover Swiss cheese from another recipe so I based my quiche around that. Brinner it’s what for dinner.

Ingredients:

1 Pillsbury pie dough shell, blind baked at 425°F for about 20 minutes (I used parchment and dry beans)
4 eggs
1 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
11/2 cups Swiss cheese
8 strips of bacon, cook until crisp and torn into ½ inch strips
8 oz. mushrooms, sliced and cooked in an oiled pan until almost all of the excess moisture has left them
1/3 green onion tops, chopped

Directions:

1.    Preheat oven to 375°F
2.    In a large bowl, whisk eggs, cream and mustard
3.    Add Swiss cheese and whisk to combine
4.    Add bacon and whisk to combine
5.    Add mushrooms and whisk to combine
6.    Add green onions and whisk to combine
7.    Pour mix in pie shell
8.    Cook quiche until set in the middle, about 45 minutes

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Eggs, French, Pork

Leave a Reply

