chocolate toffee cashew bars

Well they call me William The Pleaser

I sold opium, fireworks, and lead

Now I’m telling my troubles to strangers

When the shadows get long I’ll be dead

“Lucinda” by Tom Waits

I haven’t done any dessert lately, this lovely recipe comes from my wonderful mother. Have I told you lately how much she kicks ass??? She spent a week in our new home painting walls and ceilings from dusk til dawn.  Seriously, she got less rest during that week than a meth addict on a glass binge. And just like meth…

WARNING: these dessert bars are highly addictive and withdrawals may cause fits of rage, insomnia, and uncontrollable movements.

Makes three dozen bars

Ingredients:

2 (8 oz.) can Pillsbury Refrigerated Quick Crescent Dinner Rolls
1 1/3 cup butter
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 cups salted cashew halves
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375° F
  2. Unroll dough into 4 long rectangles, place on ungreased jelly roll pan
  3. Spread out dough with your fingers over the bottom to form crust, sealing perforations
  4. In a small saucepan, combine butter and brown sugar, boil for 1 minute.
  5. Pour evenly mixture evenly over dough
  6. Sprinkle with nuts
  7. Bake for 14 to 18 minutes or until golden brown
  8. Remove from the oven and immediately sprinkle wtih chocolate chips
  9. Swirl the chips as they melt, leaving some partially melted or whole
  10. Cool completely on a wire rack
  11. Cut into bars
7 Comments

Filed under American, Dessert, Uncategorized

7 responses to “chocolate toffee cashew bars

  1. mom

    I’m speachless and you know that takes alot! You think I kicked ass last week-wait until Easter!!!!LOOK OUT :-)

  2. Katherine

    Wow. Glad to see those crescent rolls can actually be applied to a noble cause… I had no idea why they existed.

  3. Oh my. These look great. Can I hire your mother to do some stuff for us? She sound like a force to be reckoned with.

  4. Pingback: happy new year: 2011!!! |

Leave a Reply

